A Leak/Drip from the..discharge valve?

Did you have an issue or question about operation of your Dream T tank machine on Day One right out of the box? If so, report it here and also keep us abreast of the resolution.
GooseVR1

A Leak/Drip from the..discharge valve?

Post by GooseVR1 »

My Dream T arrived today...and it's a little larger than I expected (yes, can't wait for my wife to get home and see it).

Got a little late after the unboxing so I only attempted to dial in Chris' Black Pearl espresso blend to the point where it was drinkable; I'm sure there are lots of parameters I could try if I had a little more time (but it's day one!).

This is my first "real machine." I've been rocking the MyPressi Twist for the past 3 months, with a Bellman steamer that I've gotten really good at (and yes, the steam on the Dream T is insanely powerful).

Here's a video of the shot - if anyone wants to offer tips on technique, please do feel free to.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIh5a01G ... lA&index=1

Here are some photos - could use some help looking at the last two.
http://catieanderic.smugmug.com/Hobbies ... &k=6Zjg7Nx

The last photo shows what looks like a discharge valve; when I back flush, water spits out (rather forcefully) from this valve into the drip tray (sounds normal). However, I noticed that after a few pulled shots (maybe I was just experimenting wrong?) water would still come out of this valve. In these cases, it's not as forceful as when I'm back flushing. Most of it makes it into the drip tray (I think) but some sort of leaks out along the stainless plate (wall) and puddles the plastic floor (supporting the drip tray). It then drips onto the counter through the hole there. Can't imagine this is normal?

Anything I can do about this drip...or puddling...or whatever you might call it? The puddles you see in the machine are after taking the drip tray out after a few shots - so they didn't quite make it in the tray.