BBQ Roasting

Discussions about roaster hardware and the finer points of their use
Grant

BBQ Roasting

Post by Grant »

I have been roasting for many years. I have purchased and outlived bunches of roasters, including popcorn poppers, roasters made by Hearthware, Freshroast, and others. When I ordered my S1, I also decided to make a switch to a BBQ drum roaster. I ordered a stainless steel drum with a 6 inch radius, not the standard 8 inch radius, because the 8 inch would be too close to the flames in my BBQ.

This past weekend I made two roasts with the BBQ drum. The first was no good. The second was a great improvement, and very drinkable.

I have mainly roasted Sweetmarias Moka Kadir and Monkey blends. I am enjoying my S1 so much that I want to drink more espresso. To keep the caffeine under control, I have ordered Sweetmarias Decaf Espresso Donkey Blend.

Any suggestions on roasting techniques and green beans for the S1?
hlsheppard

Post by hlsheppard »

Grant -

I'm in the same boat as you. I'm currently using the first generation I-Roast. I've gone through many a roaster...

However, I've failed miserably at the BBQ roasting. Virtually every batch I've tried ends up horrible. I actually had one burst into flame! :shock:

We have one of the enormous stainless steel grills. I often wonder if I would get good results just buying a cheap Char-broil or some such grill just to dedicate to roasting. I am NOT understanding my disability with BBQ roasting!

That said, my favorites with the S1 are Intelligencia's Black Cat, Josuma's Malabar Gold, Sweet Marias Liquid Amber and Puro Scuro (the latter is a new PHENOMENAL blend in drip or espresso).
Grant

Post by Grant »

hlsheppard

I too like the Puro Scuro. I have an order in for Liquid Amber.

My first roast followed the instructions included with the BBQ drum and was drek. My second roast was surprisingly good, encouraging me to stick with BBQ.