Need help embracing a Vivaldi II (or Lucca A53)

If you have a question or comment specific to the VII that doesn't fit in any other VII category, submit it here.
turfster26

Need help embracing a Vivaldi II (or Lucca A53)

Post by turfster26 »

Hello All....I am a newbie to this forum, so thank you for the opportunity to participate. I do participate on other forums and I try my best not to lurk, but to actually help others with posting when I have solid information to provide.

To that end, I currently own a DB E61 machine for the past 4-yrs and I am looking to upgrade. The Vivaldi II direct plumb (or Clive's version the Lucca A53) is VERY high on the list. Actually it is coming down to the VII or the Cimbali Jr Casa. I know, I know, one is a DB and one is an HX. But both machine have their pluses and minuses and that is why I am reaching out to all of you on this forum for some help.

I really like the Jr Casa for its solid build quality, but I have heard so many good things about the VII and obviously its many years in service that I must give it a serious look.

I did post these questions on another forum, however I received little feedback and it was suggested that I post them here. So I hope it is ok?

A couple of things that I would like to address and/or have answered:

Would you buy again?
Do you feel it is still at the top compared against peer machines in the DB PID market?
Overall build quality?
Do you still enjoy using it or do you suffer from upgraditis?
Are you plagued by the whole 53mm PF?
Do you feel the "in the cup experience" is the same or equal to the E61 DB machines?
Do you ever wish for more room within the user area (PF and steam wand area) as compared to the more open architecture of an E61?