5 years w/o descaling?

If you have a question or comment specific to the VII that doesn't fit in any other VII category, submit it here.
Bossman

5 years w/o descaling?

Post by Bossman »

Hello,

I am in the process of buying a 5 year old V2. The pictures make it look like the machine has been taken very good care of, even the inside and the boilers look brand new - on the outside. The guy I am buying it from has has it hooked up to the filter and softener setup from Chris' Coffee the whole 5 years. He said he had to replace the heating element about a year ago and there was only a small amount of white fuz like scale on the element.

I am new to this, is it possible that a machine can go so long without a descale with that filter/softener setup? Should I plan on cracking it open and checking out the inside of the boilers before I use it? I am not very handy, so taking it apart and doing a full descale will be very difficult for me. I was not going to go the used route, but in my price range the V2 would destroy anything I could afford new.
MDL
Barista

Re: 5 years w/o descaling?

Post by MDL »

It is possible that the boiler is just fine. It all depends on how it has been used. If the water was always softened and the owner flushed water from the steam boiler regularly it could be fine. My VII seven years old, has always been run using the CC softener system and the brew boiler has never been descaled and is doing fine.

When I first started to use the machine I did not regularly flush water out of the steam boiler. The steam boiler became very noisy when heating (a sure sign of scaling) and I descaled with white vinegar. After that time I have regularly flushed water through the steam boiler and it holds up just fine.